1. Shady Grove
  2. Stealin'
  3. A Horse Named Bill
  4. Off to Sea Once More
  5. Louis Collins
  6. Fair Ellender
  7. Jackaroo
  8. Casey Jones
  9. Dreadful Wind and Rain
10. I Truly Understand
11. The Handsome Cabin Boy
12. Whiskey in the Jar
13. Down in the Valley

ACD 21
Jerry Garcia & David Grisman

Shady Grove (ACD-21) showcases the exceptional folk songs and ballads that were performed and recorded by Jerry & David during the early 1990's. The recording includes an incredible version of the title track as well as "Stealin," "Jackaroo" and "The Sweet Sunny South." Five tracks are duets, two of which feature Jerry playing 5-string banjo, with David playing guitar or 5-string banjo; 5 tracks feature the Garcia/Grisman band with DGQ members Joe Craven and Jim Kerwin, and 3 tracks are trios with special guests Bryan Bowers (autoharp), Matt Eakle (flute) and Will Scarlett (harmonica).

Shady Grove was recorded in Dawg Studios during the last five years of Jerry's life and shows the breadth and depth of Jerry Garcia as one of the great interpretive American folk artists of this or any other generation.

This release was also the first to utilize the High Definition Compatible Digital (HDCD) process which produces recordings with greatly improved fidelity when played on standard compact disc players, a process which is now used on every Acoustic Disc release.

Previous CD  Next CD