1. Doc & Dawg
2. All About You
3. Bluegrass Stomp
4. Summertime
5. Sweet Georgia Brown
6. Frankie and Johnny
7. Soldier's Joy
8. What Is Home Without Love?
9. Fiddle-Tune Medley
10. Kentucky Waltz
11. My Dear Old Southern Home
12. Florida Blues
13. Blue As I Can Be
14. Watson Blues


ACD 25
Doc Watson & David Grisman

Listening to Doc & Dawg is like being at an intimate jam session with two legendary musicians. This singular collaboration is a collection of contemporary and traditional folk music created during Doc Watson's visits to David Grisman's home studio over the years and it captures all the warmth, joy and artistry displayed when these two old friends get together and pick.

Fourteen tracks offer the listener an array of musical styles including a galloping "Soldier's Joy," a relaxed Bill Monroe blues, "Bluegrass Stomp," and a light-hearted, jazzy "Sweet Georgia Brown." "Frankie and Johnny" is a folk gem and Gershwin's "Summertime" has never sounded so sweet. Doc's inviting vocals and impressive guitar picking and David's unique mandolin shadings are ever-present, along with some special guest appearances. Jack Lawrence, Doc's guitar-pickin' protege is heard on seven cuts; bluegrass legend Curley Sechler adds tenor vocals to the Monroe Brothers' "What is Home Without Love?" and Stuart Duncan (fiddle), Alan O'Bryant (banjo) and James Kerwin (bass) fill out a special arrangement of Bill Monroe's classic tribute to Doc, "Watson Blues."

Arthel Watson and David Grisman's musical friendship goes back to the early sixties when a newly discovered Doc invited the 17-year-old mandolinist to sing and play a duet with him at Gerde's Folk City in New York. "Throughout the years," said David, "Doc and I have never missed a chance to pick together. These tapes document some wonderful after-dinner sessions and we're pleased to share these moments with you."

Previous CD  Next CD