1. Going Up On the Mountain
  2. The Hills of Isle Au Haut
  3. The Golden Vanity
  4. Wild Bill Jones
  5. Rhinoceros
  6. Black Waters
  7. Turtle Dove
  8. Oh the Wind and Rain
  9. Don't you Hear Jerusalem Moan
10. Amanda

11. Way Downtown
12. The Hills of Isle Au Haut
13. Wedding Dress
14. Table Mountain Road
15. Snake Baked Hoecake
16. Thompson's Reel
17. The Blind Fiddler
18. The Frieze Britches
19. Leela

ACD 39
Jody Stecher

Going Up On the Mountain (ACD-39) is the first Acoustic Disc release by Jody Stecher, a Grammy nominated singer and instrumentalist who is regarded as one of America's leading traditional folk artists. Comprised of two highly acclaimed releases from the 1970's, Going Up On the Mountain and Snake Baked Hoecake, this disc is attractively packaged with new photos and liner notes. These recordings have become folk classics over the years, cherished by longtime fans and admirers. Snake Baked has inspired lots of young musicians to take up old-time music, and Going Up On the Mountain features the first duet ever recorded by Jody and his wife and longtime singing partner, Kate Brislin, as well as guest appearances by John Herald, Eric Thompson, and others.

Both albums have been mined for reportoire by a large and diverse bunch of musicians, including Jerry Garcia, David Grisman, Peter Rowan, the Seldom Scene, Larie Lewis, and Hot Rize. Notable tracks on Going Up On the Mountain include the traditional "Oh the Wind and Rain," "Way Downtown," "Wild Bill Jones," and Bob McDill's country classic,"Amanda."


Previous CD  Next CD