1. Watermelon Hanging On A Vine
  2. Band Intros
  3. Panhandle Country
  4. Dark Hollow
  5. On And On
  6. Devil's Dream
  7. Love's Gonna Live Here
  8. Dreaming Of A Little Cabin
  9. Muleskinner Blues
10. Footprints In The Snow
11. Blue Moon Of Kentucky
12. Rawhide
13. John Henry
14. I Saw The Light
15. Waiting For Bea
16. What Would You Give In Exchange
17. Uncle Pen
18. Blue Ridge Mountain Blues
19. Y'all Come

ACD 59
Bill Monroe and the Blue Grass Boys

The Acoustic Disc Archive Series proudly presents Bill Monroe and the Blue Grass Boys Live at Mechanics Hall. This classic 1963 edition of Monroe's band - featuring the revolutionary banjo playing of Bill Keith and the high lonesome sound of Del McCoury at the beginning of his career as a singer and rhythm guitarist - was recorded by David Grisman at one of America's finest pre-civil war concert halls.

Live at Mechanics Hall features over 12 songs never released by this configuration, including two tracks featuring Bill's daughter Melissa Monroe and the only recorded Monroe duet with Bea Lilly of the Lilly Brothers.

This concert provides a glimpse of Bill Monroe at a time when he was putting a lot of energy into his performances. Stand-out tracks like "On and On," "John Henry," "Blue Ridge Mt. Blues" and a blistering version of "Rawhide" shows Monroe's determination to keep up with the musical challenges presented by the hot young musicians in his band. Reflecting on his time with Monroe, Del McCoury states, "I've learned a lot from Bill, and I've learned that a lot of jazz, country and blues musicians wish they had gotten to be Blue Grass Boys. I was lucky to have gotten to play with him."

In 1963 Bill Monroe was on the brink of becoming an icon of American music. Performances like these helped propel him to that status in his legendary career. Live at Mechanics Hall also features a 24-page booklet containing previously unpublished archival photos and extensive notes by bluegrass historian Neil Rosenberg.

Previous CD  Next CD