1. I'm Beginning to See the Light
  2. Autumn Leaves
  3. Do You Know What It Means (To Miss New Orleans?)
  4. East of the Sun
  5. Autumn in New York
  6. Makin' Whoopee
  7. Lover Man
  8. Exactly Like You
  9. Willow Weep For Me
10. A Foggy Day
11. Cheek to Cheek
12. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
ACD 36
Martin Taylor & David Grisman

Martin Taylor and David Grisman front an extraordinary acoustic jazz quartet for I'm Beginning to See the Light (ACD-36), the new release from Acoustic Disc. With the impeccable rhythm section accompaniment of DGQ alumni Jim Kerwin on bass and George Marsh on drums, Scottish guitar virtuoso Taylor and mandolin maven Grisman have created a string-jazz milestone. Taylor and Grisman collaborated in 1995 on the acclaimed Tone Poems II, a historic look at both jazz and the great acoustic archtop guitars (and mandolins). The empathy and interplay developed during those session -- and subsequent live performances -- is evident in their playing on this album as new vitality is brought to classic jazz standards.

Acoustic renditions of the title cut, "Autumn in New York," "Willow Weep for Me," "East of the Sun," "Lover Man" and seven others exhibit rare depth and sensitivity. The musicians are inventive and inspired, the quartet members melding into a tight, unified sound that belies the improvisational nature of this project. Co-produced by Martin and David, I'm Beginning to See the Light was recorded "live" directly to 2-track analog by David Dennison; sonically, it is one of the best recordings created by Acoustic Disc.

Previous CD  Next CD